Q. I was injured on the job. How do I get workers’ compensation benefits?
A. After sustaining an injury at work, you must notify your employer of the injury. If possible, it’s best to give your employer a written notice. Although the law allows a certain amount of days to notify your employer, you should tell your employer within 21 days of the injury occurring. Once your injury is reported, your employer should file a work comp claim. Your employer and their insurance carrier have 21 days to accept, deny, delay or modify your claim.
Q. If my claim is accepted, what types of benefits will I be awarded?
A. If your claim is accepted initially, you may be awarded compensation for medical costs (doctor visits, surgery, medicine), disfigurement, pre-injury average weekly wage, total or partial disability, and medical-related travel expenses. Family members who tragically lost a loved one in a workplace accident, may be awarded compensation for the expenses related to a tragic death.
Q. Can’t I just file a lawsuit against my employer?
A. Per state law, you are not allowed to sue your employer for a work-related injury. The state’s workers’ compensation system is the only way you can receive compensation from your employer. If someone other than your employer caused or contributed to the injury occurring, you may be able to file a lawsuit in the civil court system.
Q. I was working for two employers at the time of my injury. Does that affect my claim?
A. Yes, your employment with two companies may affect the amount of benefits you receive. It’s imperative you tell a skilled work injury attorney right away of your employment status. They may be able to get you more weekly compensation as a result of missing time at both jobs.
Q. Can my employer fire me for filing a work comp claim or hiring a lawyer?
A. No. Your employer can’t fire you for filing a workers’ compensation claim. And, the law prohibits your employer from retaliating against you for hiring a work comp attorney. If you were fired or retaliated against after filing a work comp claim or hiring a lawyer, you should discuss your situation with a dedicated work injury lawyer immediately.
Q. I was injured on the job in another state. Can I file a workers’ compensation claim in Pennsylvania?
A. If you were injured at work in another state, you may be able to file a work comp claim in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. When injured in another state, it would be wise to get experienced legal help. A knowledgeable work comp attorney with experience handling cases of this nature will carefully navigate the claims process to ensure you get the highest amount of compensation possible.
Q. If I hire a work comp lawyer, how will I benefit?
A. Sadly, employers and insurance companies do not always have your best interest at heart and oftentimes, are only thinking of their bottom line – saving money. A caring work injury attorney will look out for you and use every resource he or she has to protect your legal right to full and fair benefits. In addition to securing you the best possible case outcome, an ethical work injury lawyer will:
- Handle negotiations with the insurance company
- Prepare and turn in claim paperwork
- Keep you informed of any major claim changes
- Make sure you get the best medical care available
- Relieve you of the stress and strain associated with the work comp system
Q. Are work injury attorneys expensive?
A. At the Philadelphia Workers Compensation Lawyers Group, all of the aggressive work injury lawyers in our group represent all cases on a contingency fee basis. Simply put, you won’t have to pay a dime until your case is won. Call 215-494-7131 right away to arrange a time to speak one on one with a compassionate work injury attorney in our group. Consultations are free and you will not be pressured to hire the lawyer we refer you to.